Author Topic: need advice  (Read 1111 times)

Offline brandonevers360

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
need advice
« on: October 26, 2015, 12:00:18 PM »
hey guys i have practiced for a while and i have trouble learning how to do flips. i can do them on trampolines and into pools i just cant do them on flat. please comment and give me some advice

Offline Raiddinn

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Re: need advice
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2015, 05:18:24 AM »
I am not an expert on this and I don't train it.

That being said, you may want to try working on your blocking and also try delaying going into the tuck until you get more height.

Not blocking and tucking too soon are common points of failure.

Offline brandonevers360

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2015, 06:42:53 AM »
thanks for that tip but how do you get over the fear of flipping on flat ground

Offline Raiddinn

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2015, 06:52:10 AM »
75% of everything in parkour is getting over fear.  That's the biggest hurdle there is.

I can't really tell you how to do that.

I can say just go do it, and you can get all hyped up and... then you bail instead of trying it.

The best thing I can tell you is to setup an environment where you feel comfortable failing (a lot).

If you have or can get a gymnastics mat, great.  If you can convince yourself it's safe to fall on that, then you can get by a lot of the fear.

The fear still affects me a lot too.  I often find myself saying "Yep, I am going to die.  This is it." before doing stuff.

Just practice the heck out of the progression stuff and hope for the best.

I would suggest trying to get the side flip down first.  It's like a parkour roll, just in the air.