Author Topic: Karateka 37+ searching for flow  (Read 2956 times)

Offline Mindbender

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
    • Penwalking - A Creative Adventure
Karateka 37+ searching for flow
« on: March 04, 2015, 03:49:06 AM »
Hi, glad to have found this group.

I'm 37 going on 38 and have a background in running and low level martial arts (9 kyu Ninjutsu, 3 kyu Aikido) and have currently been training Karate (8 kyu) for a year. I'm also a drummer and artist, working as a teacher.

I have two boys, 11 and 9 who are both crazy about Parkour and a few days ago we all went to a Parkour park for the first time. I was amazed to find out that Parkour and Budo has so much in common! Realizing that Parkour movement could be trained and performed as a sort of kata, aiming for precision, flow and control, this is something I want to keep doing. :)

Now I'm here, another part of the journey has begun and I'm looking forward to share it with - and find helpful advice - from you guys with much more experience.

The most athletic thing I've done earlier is the ukemi found in the martial arts practice, so my plan is to start with "lazy vault/simplified lazy vault" as my first "move". I'm not very well trained at the moment (partly due to a broken toe this summer), but determined to get in better shape now. Wonderful to train together with your sons :)

Happy to be here, looking forward to following the rest of you as well as sharing my adventures. Will have a 3rd child - probably a girl - in May and it will be interesting to see how this will affect my training. :D

Have a first question for you guys: Is "static sitting squat" a good first practice when I don't have the opportunity to practice outdoors? Thinking about using squat, push-ups and sit-ups as a "home practice" foundation for both my karate (kata) and Parkour training.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2015, 03:27:30 AM by Mindbender »
"Simplicity is the highest level of sophistication" - Da Vinci

Offline Mindbender