Author Topic: Honestly, how would Parkour competition affect you personally?  (Read 9494 times)

Offline Jerry

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

First, I'd like to say thank you to everyone for making this forum such a great place. I have learned a lot here.

To begin with, I am new to Parkour training. While I have been a casual fan for some time, I only recently decided to jump in (pun intended) and train.  For the most part, I am trying to get a handle on the sometimes strange subculture that is the parkour/freerunning community. I run a full time mma/self defense school in southern California and have 2 small kids which pretty much means my training time is limited and getting together with other traceurs is almost out of the question for now. I train Parkour for all of the reasons put forward by most of the PK community. I train for pretty much the same reasons I train in martial arts (although the ground can hit harder than any of my training partners). I want my training to be fun. I want to stay in shape and learn more about my body and its capabilities. I enjoy the freedom and creativity. The utility of the skills of PK with regard to helping others is not lost on me as I feel the same way towards teaching others to protect themselves.

I have read many threads regarding the topic of competition on many forums which many people on here visit and or post on. I see that many people feel VERY strongly against the idea of competition and some people have made very articulate arguements regarding their position.