Author Topic: Big guy just starting need some help  (Read 1815 times)

Offline Brett merrell

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Big guy just starting need some help
« on: June 22, 2012, 04:25:30 PM »
Hey everyone, i am new to the parkour seen i tried it once or twice with a buddy of mine. It was really us just goofing around we went our side jumped over some railings is all. Anyway im not gonna lie when i was doing it i loved it idk why but it felt good to be able to jump over even a small rail as a bigger guy. An sense then its been on my mind and i have been wanting to really give it a go no goofing around the real deal.
    So thats where i need some help because idk where to start off. Like the title im a bigger guy '6"2 280 pounds now understand im not just some ball of fat i was big into martial arts (still am) i can still kick over my head so i am still rather flexible for a bigger guy. i can do 20 good push ups and run for a few blocks. So again im not total couch potato.  Anyway if any of you guys give me some good tips on where to start off maybe even a workout/exercise i can do that will directly translate to parkour. If anyone can help me it be amazing and thanks for any tips!

Offline Brett merrell

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Re: Big guy just starting need some help
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 06:32:38 PM »
Wow kinda bumed looks like the gorilla section went under before i got here. Oh well back to the drawing board i suppose.  :(

Offline Joe Brock

• #1 Coach
  • Ambassador
  • Hirundo Rustica
  • Pick your passion.
    • View Profile
Re: Big guy just starting need some help
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2012, 09:04:19 PM »
I think that I should be an honorary Gorilla. I mean, I'm no waif.

Check out http://www.eatmoveimprove.com/ for a great list of skills that translate well to parkour, and how to train to reach them.  Steven and Chris put a lot of time into their work there, and it's pretty solid stuff.