Author Topic: Gymnastics a must?  (Read 10475 times)

Offline brett

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Gymnastics a must?
« on: July 07, 2011, 01:47:05 PM »
Whenever I find someone who's good, most of them say they have either done varying amounts of gymnastics/tumbling classes, or martial arts.  Are these an absolute must to be able to get better at freerunning? Aka being able to do most flips/corkscrews ect.  I'm only 16 so i guess there could be time for me to join a gymnastics class, if you guys think i should.

Are any of you self taught?

thanks

brett

Offline Ryan Sannar

• Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
    • Jump Utah
Re: Gymnastics a must?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2011, 02:42:38 PM »
I personally did martial arts and was on an exhibition team. However I have a friend who never took any of either and currently teaches gymnastic classes. He's one of the best flippers I know. Some of it is natural talent, but I don't doubt that most of the reason is because he just loves flipping and being in the air. Thus he does it all the time and has as a result gotten very very good.

You don't need those classes, but the truth is they can and will help. So long as you go in with an open mind. Many people in the "pro" circuit don't have experience that way (Daniel Illabaca comes to mind..)

If you are going to do it, don't do if for just parkour. Do it because you want it, otherwise your going to be throwing money at it. Be willing to pay for it before you do it is what I'm trying to say.
10 push ups.

Offline steve dahlin

• Hirundo Rustica
  • Parkour/Freerunning/Tricking
    • View Profile
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2011, 08:04:13 PM »
I'm Self Taught, and this is my sampler after 3 years after starting from scratch, (0 background experience)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X13DRvfVkBo