Author Topic: Better as an unknown sport?  (Read 9478 times)

Offline Wenxin Yang

• Hirundo Rustica
  • Muffin Button
    • View Profile
Better as an unknown sport?
« on: August 08, 2009, 08:50:12 AM »
Now that Barclay World Freerun Championships are reaching it's 2nd year, I can't help but wonder, is this how parkour is going to turn out to be? A widely broadcasted, company sponsored "sport" that everyone knows? I started practicing Parkour because it was an unknown sport that was non-competitive. It had more appeal to me then, then it is now. I feel like Parkour has strayed from what the founders really intended. Does anyone else feel this way?

Offline Jacquis "Curfew"

• Mangabey
  • CSRD patient
    • View Profile
Re: Better as an unknown sport?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2009, 08:54:11 AM »
i almost miss the olden days when it was "did you say park wars?? OH, you said par cored."  :)

Offline Kenn Andersen

• Mangabey
  • Proud TR89 Groupie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2009, 09:02:02 AM »
Aren't the Barclay World Freerun Championships, Freerunning competitions? Not parkour?  Regardless. If parkour becomes mainstream then it is going to happen whether we embrace it or not. I feel that so many people can benefit from the philosophy and it would be selfish of us to want to keep parkour unknown. I just hope that when it does become mainstream that it does not get corrupted by thrill seekers. I would really hate to see parkour show up in the Xgames or something like that.

What I love about parkour is that it is pure. No competition. Anyone and everyone can do it.
Why are you wearing that stupid man suit?

Offline Grayson

• Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2009, 09:31:47 AM »