Author Topic: Osgood Schlatters  (Read 3790 times)

Offline Digital Kid

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Osgood Schlatters
« on: June 27, 2006, 09:15:21 AM »
Hello there. Just wondering if anyone is in a similar situation and if so, what advice they might have.
I have a condition called Osgood Schlaters which is essentially a permanent fracture below the right knee on the front of the tibia bone. The fracture is filled in with cartilage instead of healing correctly, so it is a permanent weak spot that is prone to injury, even breaking. I've had this ever since I could remember and was never allowed to play full contact sports due to the doctors recommendations.  I've been interested in parkour forever, read up the sites, own every movie out there ('cept for Jump London). Besides the knee, i'm physically fit to start the training. The only real thing that is holding me back is now I am a firefighter and if I do break my leg, I could lose my job due to not having enough sick leave in order to recover. Any thoughts?
Digital Kid

Offline Eric Kropp

• Mangabey
    • View Profile
Re: Osgood Schlatters
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2006, 09:56:04 AM »
Well you could talk to your doctor about how much you should be doing, and how much stress it can take.  That would probably be a safe idea.

Gearsighted

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2006, 11:49:16 AM »
I had it in high school and was told that it would go away eventually. It did, in a period in my life where I wasn't as active. As soon as I started back into Parkour, it came back in my right knee. All I can suggest is icing and stretching your quad as much as possible. I haven't found any suggestions as far as preventing it completely, but I've also been told that it isn't a big deal (i.e., I've never heard anything about one fracturing)

Offline Travis Graves

• Administrator
  • Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
    • Primal Fitness
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2006, 02:59:34 PM »