Author Topic: How do you describe Parkour to someone?  (Read 9856 times)

Offline Dannyboy

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
    • My Space
How do you describe Parkour to someone?
« on: November 17, 2005, 09:44:01 AM »
So yesterday I went to the chiropractor, and he asked me what sports I enjoyed, so I told him, swimming and parkour. He asked me what PK was and I did my best to explain it to him. I am fairly new to the "sport" but not to the idea of PK. I have always free run, just didn't know it was a sport. So I sat there and tried to explain PK without getting to much into philosophy of it. I told him it was a mix of urban ninja/Jacki Chan/jet Li/running/fluid movement. But I'm not sure that that is a good definition. Can anyone help me out here so that when I try to tell people about PK I won't screw up?
« Last Edit: November 17, 2005, 11:33:38 AM by M2 »
Its what I do that defines me

Offline Skipper

• Global Moderator
  • Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
Re: What Is Your Definition of Parkour?
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2005, 10:06:48 AM »
Ok, without sending this conversation into a HUGE contraversial spiral to nowhere, im just going to tell you to sit tight. Soon we will have a very respectable definition of what parkour is, and then you can paraphrase that to explain to people.

Lord knows if I were to put up a definition, someone from parkour.net will see it and instead of confronting me, they will have a 10 page discussion on how there are only two people in the world that are qualified to answer your question... blah blah blah.
Jesus i hate the politics round here. hah.

But ya, sit tight and we will get you your definition, then life will be easy  ;)

Offline Dannyboy

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
    • My Space
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2005, 10:39:29 AM »
Righto Skipper! Will do.

Offline Mark Toorock

• M2
  • Administrator
  • Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
    • American Parkour