Author Topic: Getting started  (Read 3115 times)

Offline Vanilla_luv

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Getting started
« on: June 01, 2006, 10:54:21 AM »
Hey everyone, I live in the Flint area and I'm interested in gettin into parkour.  Only problem is I have never done this before, and I have no idea how to get started, or if there's even anyone in my area who does it.  Are there like "parkour clubs" or do you just practice on your own.  Any input would be appreciated!

Offline michiganparkour

• Patas
  • WHAAAAAAT
    • View Profile
Re: Getting started
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2006, 11:31:53 AM »
practice on youre own basicly
Don't argue with an idiot, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

Offline SkyNative

• Global Moderator
  • Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2006, 01:56:18 PM »
Hey, welcome vanilla_liv.
A good place to start is this post: http://www.americanparkour.com/smf/index.php/topic,1182.0.html
I haven't heard for anyone in Flint, but I know there's people in the general vacinity. Check out the "List of Michigan Traceurs" topic to see who.
Typically practitioners in an area form a clan or group, but they are always open to newcomers. If you can't find anyone near you then I suggest starting out on your own, at playgrounds or other structures you may find. Remember to keep it small first and get the basics solid.
There are some good tutorials on some commons techniques here: http://www.americanparkour.com/content/category/4/60/214/
But don't be limited by those techniques, parkour can incorporate almost any move you can think of that aids in getting you over or around an obstacle quickly.
Have fun and be safe.

-Levi

Offline Matthew Menze

• Mangabey
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2006, 05:28:13 PM »
Yeah, Just read a crapload of tut's and then go try them...Start small, but always push yourself a little bit. You'll improve like mad.