Author Topic: Injuries keep coming back!!! HELP!!!  (Read 1474 times)

Offline zyzzogeton

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Injuries keep coming back!!! HELP!!!
« on: January 28, 2009, 10:31:22 PM »
So I sign up for pre-session for track and about 3 weeks in my ankle kills it self. So my coach suggests I get better running shoes. Apparently when I run my ankle goes inwards causing pain. So I get new shoes that correct it and everything is fine until just recently when I started practicing parkour(nothing major, just very small vaults) again my ankles are hurting on the outside. My friend told me that she has had that happen to her before from dance and that I should just rest my ankles and do those rolly-things with my feet (ankle-roll? whatever they are called) every day. Now I don't know how important this is but: when I roll my ankles around they make very loud cracking noises. Well it didn't help and now my knees hurt too(everything bad that could possibly happen) and running turns into an incarnation of hell, aka it hurts like $%!#.

So now you go the backstory, here's my question: I'm obviously doing something wrong so what is it? I don't know if it's parkour, my shoes, etc. But something is definitely wrong with what I'm doing. Also if someone could tell me a way to heal my knees that would be great too...

Thanks in advance!!!

Offline Mathew C

• Mangabey
    • View Profile
Re: Injuries keep coming back!!! HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 03:37:02 PM »
The technical term for what you do is overpronation. It's something that you'll have to deal with before you go on. Go see a doctor, who will probably prescribe orthotics and some exercises to strengthen the support muscles.

Offline zyzzogeton

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 05:20:13 PM »
Awesome, I'm getting a physical for track anyways so I'll tell my doctor about it while I'm there. Thanks!

Offline Joeson Wong

• Patas
  • "Kuza"